“I was born when she kissed me.
I died when she left me.
I lived a few weeks while she loved me.”

Melodramatic stuff. In a Lonely Place is better than this. So much so that these lines work within the film. It can be how it feels even if it doesn’t make sense. Maybe something that can never be understood doesn’t need to be. It just needs to be felt, to be given a chance. We’re all human, broken and prone to failure.  To respect somebody we love and and give them the benefit of the doubt, in spite of what reason tells us can be difficult. Our sense of reason isn’t always reasonable after all, especially when we don’t know all the facts. At what point does dedication and patience become foolhardiness and how much mistreatment should we take? Have we become blind to what might be an unfixable problem? Is it something we can accept?

In a Lonely Place is about two faulty people. They know their faults, struggle with them and struggle to cope with the powerful emotion of an intense relationship. Humphrey Bogart is excellent – The Treasure of the Sierra Madre excellent. Not being that confident, bravado-filled anti-hero seems to get the best out of him. It’s Gloria Grahame who is the main focus, however, and (one or two scenes excepted), she’s superb. Perhaps her character knows that she loves Bogart’s because of his flaws, or that he is unique and remarkable for the same reasons that he is extremely temperamental. I may have limited insight here, but I don’t think you can choose who you fall for. I’m certainly attracted to the extraordinary  and disinterested in almost everyone. I’m probably a little unusual too, with a set of views and opinions that are unlikely to find their match. This may be why I have almost infinite patience for what I like: intelligent, intense, open-minded free thinkers who challenge me. Would I stay with someone who was obviously no good? I would hope not but the evidence has been to the contrary so far. Lucky for me, the choice has not mine in the end. There might be a lesson to learn there…

In a Lonely Place is an excellent film and I strongly recommend it. Hopefully this review is somehow representative of what to expect! I hope you enjoy it as much as I have.

Leave a Reply

