An Ending

When I feel nothing,
It’s harder than feeling pain.
Pain, anger loneliness,
Longing to see you again.

But if I saw you now it’d be different.
No smile to greet me,
Coldness where there was warmth.
Hostility and indifference,
Things I cannot bear.

I’d like to see you and smile,
Maybe I can’t do it any more,
Smile while being beaten,
Smile while being scorned.

I did my best to love you,
Better than many men could.
But it’s not enough when you don’t care,
You don’t care,
You didn’t care.
Did you ever care?

 

Inspired by:

(…and a very special woman.)

Leave a Reply

